Bjørn Jeppesen started Nattefrost in October 1995.

In May 1996 a cassette tape “Når månen er fuld” was released. It was limited to 80 copies and quickly sold out and given away.

In April 1997 another cassette tape was out and like the first one this one was also quickly gone.

The first Nattefrost CD “Nordboernes solhvervsfest” was released on the 1st December 1997.

In 2003 The track “Slaget som varede evigt” was included on the ”From the Nulll void” compilation released by Belgian Nulll Records.

Nattefrost has always been very inspired by the ancient Scandinavia so it wasn’t a surprise that the 2 next releases were entitled “De som sejrede…” (Those who conquered) & “Vejen til Asgård” (The road to Asgard). The 2 CDs were released in April and December 2004 by Nothingness Records in Belgium. In 2010 they got re-released as the CD “Repackaged” with 2 previously unreleased bonus tracks.

The track “Valhal” was included on the CD compilation “E-dition Vol. 9” released by the Dutch label Groove Unlimited. Nattefrost had just signed a contract for the next album so this was a teaser.

In May 2006 “Absorbed in dreams and yearning” saw the light of day with great success. The inspiration for this album was still very much ancient Scandinavia.

It got a lof of attention and good reviews from zines and radio stations around the world.

At that time Nattefrost hadn’t done more than a few live shows but in the middle of 2006 Jeppesen decided to prepare some stuff for coming live shows and a good way to perform the music live since there were a lot of requests for that to happen.

In April 2007 “Underneath the nightsky” was released by Groove Unlimited. This time Phil Molto aka Robert Schreoder participated and played the guitar part on the track “Winterland”. This time the musical elements were developing to the more spacier sounds.

Nattefrost was and still is reguarly aired at lots of radio stations world wide. In 2007 BBC featured some tracks once in a while. Also radio stations in Germany, Spain, Mexico and the US have been giving the Danish musician a lot of regular airplay.

“Transformation” was released in March 2008 – again by Groove Unlimited.

And this time with 2 tracks co-composed with Robert Schroeder. “Kopenhaachen” & “Perfectly connected”.

In May Nattefrost celebrated the release with a live concert in Wuppertal, Germany. The last 2 tracks were performed together with Robert Schroeder live on stage.

Alongside releasing his own albums Nattefrost also remixes for other artists,
In September 2008 for the Danish icon Alouise. Her CD single “Hjertestop” was released with the Nattefrost remix.

In 2009 Nattefrost did a lot of live shows starting at Fermaten in Herning, Denmark as the other act with Danish artist “Oh Land”. Later performing at the Electronic Circus in Bielefeld, Germany.

That same year Jeppesen also did several radio and tv interviews. 

And continuing in 2010 with more live shows for example twice as double act with the charismatic “Heidi Mortenson”.

In March “Live in Germany” was released. The CD consists of tracks from the Wuppertal 2008 & Bielefeld 2009 gigs.

The 2004 track “Urskovens ansigt” was included in the soundtrack to the short movie called “No Exit” by Jesper Isaksen. The DVD was released in May but the movie was already shown for the public at Cinemateket in Copenhagen in April.

In July this year Nattefrost headlined along with Biosphere at the Norberg Festival in Sweden.

The 15 year anniversary came in October 2010 and to celebrate it Jeppesen released his “Dying sun / Scarlet moon” album with brand new studio material. Again with guest appearances., Matzumi and Jerome Polenz were collaborating with  Jeppesen this time.
The same day (9th October) Nattefrost performed at the E-Live Festival in the Netherlands.

Nattefrost started 2011 doing a live radio concert in Hamburg, Germany. Soon more live shows would follow, 3 more in Germany and a few in his home country Denmark. Along with Turboweekend, Bjørn Svin and Wong Boys, Nattefrost performed on the main stage at No. 9 Festival in Silkeborg, Denmark.

“From distant Times”, a collaboration album together with German artist Matzumi was released by Groove Unlimited in 2012.
That album would be the last Nattefrost release on Groove Unlimited, at least for this time.

Sireena Records released the rather different “Futurized” which features Michel Moers from the Belgian legends Telex on 3 tracks. The album is more varied and has more uptempo tracks than the previous albums.

Another live album “Different Stages” was released in 2013, again by Sireena Records in Germany.

”Homeland”, a rather Berlin School sounding album was released in 2014. The title track runs for more than 20 minutes.

In 2015 Nattefrost turned 20 years and Sireena released the double tribute album entitled “20 Years of Nattefrost”, an album of 20 artists and bands interpreting Nattefrost tracks. Dan Lacksman from Telex is included, Nomatisan aka Funkstar Deluxe contributed., Sonnenbrandt, Krautrock legend Mythos and Ole Højer Hansen from Denmark are just some of the names.

That same year Nattefrost did 6 live shows in Denmark and Germany.

Nattefrost composed and played the intro to the title track on the “Aesthetics of Decay” album by Danish heavy metal band Steel Inferno.

The follow up to “Homeland” and in the same style “Skaldic Themes” was released in 2017. Guesting on that album is the Danish German band Navigator and the multi instrumentalist Sarah Elgeti.

To promote “Skaldic Themes” Nattefrost played gigs in Germany, Belgium, Norway and Denmark that same year.

”Tracks from the Archives Vol. 3″ was released in January 2018. Collaborations with Nebelhexe, Robert Solheim and Berit Fridahl were a. o. included.

The collective Danish Electro released the compilation album “Danish Electro Vol. 3″ on the 1st February 2019. It included a previously unreleased Nattefrost track from 2003 entitled “Fat Cats”.

In October 2020 Nattefrost released a brand new studio album “Secrets of the Universe” to celebrate his 25th Anniversary. The album features Observing System from the Netherlands on 2 tracks, both as co-composer and musician. It’s the first real concept album by Nattefrost being based on and inspired by how to apply the universal laws in life.

In February 2022 Nattefrost released the album “Dendrophile” inspired by nature.

You can hear a developement from each of the albums coming out. Even though lots of the elements from the previous releases are being kept, there are always new ideas and a more fresh sound on the next Nattefrost album. Developement and creativity is the driving force of Nattefrost.
Jeppesen himself states his music as “Contemporary synth-based electronic music with vintage elements”.

Copyright © 1995 - 2022 Nattefrost Productions